Messenger - Vol. 3, No. 1, Page 31
Fall 1993
Alumni briefs

Educators honored
     The Education Alumni Association honored eight alumni with the 1993
Commitment to Education Awards:
     Theresa Picciotti Celano '71, '75M, of Wilmington, Del., special
         education teacher, Richardson Park Learning Center, Red Clay
         Consolidated School District. Celano also was named 1993
         Outstanding Alumna;
     Barbra Frank Andrisani '68, of Wilmington, Del., former director,
         University of Delaware Office of Alumni Relations;
     Janet Sloan Baldwin '73, '78M of Newark, Del., teacher, West Park
         Place Elementary School, Christina School District;
     Frances Jane Hoffmann Carey '69, '73M of Hockessin, Del., teacher,
         Lancashire Elementary School, Brandywine School District;
     Susan Benson Cox '68 of Camden-Wyoming, Del., teacher, Allen Frear
         Elementary School, Caesar Rodney School District;
     Harlan E. Highfield Jr. '68 of Wilmington, Del., teacher, McKean
         High School, Red Clay Consolidated School District;
     John F. Hollis '67 of Seaford, Del., director of personnel and
         public information, Seaford School District; and
     Bonnie Edwards Smith '66, '86M of Wilmington, Del., science
         department chairperson, Wilmington Christian School.

Education SuperStars
     In recognition of outstanding programs, the Delaware State Chamber of
Commerce honored seven alumni with its SuperStars in Education award:
     Michael L. Coverdale '73, '89M of Harrington, Del., principal, adult
         education, Kent Vocational-Technical School District;
     Jamie Figgs Doane '76 of Dagsboro, Del., coordinator of special
         education, East Millsboro School District, Indian River School
     Michael V. Izzo '83 of Wilmington, Del., teacher, Wilmington High's
         Phoenix School;
     Kenneth C. Madden Jr. '79M of Seaford, Del., principal, Polytech High
     Linda Gennusa Malatesta '79 of Wilmington, Del., teacher, Wilmington
         High's Phoenix School;
     Annette Pratola '76 of Avondale, Pa., teacher, Wilmington High's
         Phoenix School; and
     Amelia Thomas Uro '79 of Hockessin, Del., teacher, St. Elizabeth High

Attention, honored teachers
     The Messenger wants to hear from alumni who have been named teachers
of the year in their schools, cities, districts or states since 1992.
Please send a copy of an announcement or article to Cornelia Weil, Office
of Public Relations, University of Delaware, Newark, DE 19716, or fax the
information to her at (302) 831-1440.

Outstanding grads recognized
     H. Raye Rice Jones Avery, Delaware '77, of Wilmington, Del., executive
director of the Christina Cultural Arts Center, Del., received the 1993
Outstanding Black Alumni Award from the Black Alumni Organization. John C.
Volk Jr. '50 of Wilmington, retired chief engineer of James Julian Inc.,
received the first Outstanding Alumni Award from the Engineering Alumni
Association. The award recognizes outstanding professional accomplishments
and continued involvement with the College of Engineering and the
University. Vincent P. Meconi, Delaware '83M, of Wilmington, secretary of
administrative services for the state of Delaware, was honored with the
1993 Outstanding Alumni Award for distinguished achievement by the College
of Urban Affairs and Public Policy.

House tour offered on April 24
     The Human Resources Alumni Association (HRAA) will sponsor its popular
House Tour from noon until 5 p.m. on Sunday, April 24, in Newark, Del., and
the Cecil County, Md., areas. Tickets are $10 in advance and $12 on tour
day. All proceeds are earmarked for the HRAA scholarship fund. For
information, call the college at (302) 831-2301.

Applicants sought for scholarship
     The Alumni Association seeks applicants for $1,000 scholarships, to be
awarded for the 1994-95 academic year to two University of Delaware
students who exhibit promise in their majors.
     An applicant must be a child of a U.D. alumnus or alumna, possess a
3.0 grade point average and have earned at least 30 credit hours by the
beginning of the next academic year. Special consideration will be given to
those who qualify based on need. The application deadline is March 1. To
request an application, call the Office of Alumni and University Relations
at (302) 831-2341.

     The photos of Cynthia A. Frank '82 and Claire Domine Dasalla '81, '90M
were reversed in the Class Notes section of the summer Messenger.