Messenger - Vol. 2, No. 3, Page 21
Summer 1993
Alumni honored for outstanding achievement

     Twenty alumni, all of whom graduated within the last 20 years, were
honored this spring with the Presidential Citation Award for Outstanding
Achievement. Attending the campus ceremony March 24 (seated, from left) are
Mona Boyd Browne '83 of New York, founder and president, Nutrition
Communication Service; Abbie Brockwell Small '83 of Cliffwood, N.J., vice
president, crafts and home decorating, Simplicity Pattern Co. Inc.; Barbara
L. Sheppard '77 of Wilmington, Del., child development specialist, Delaware
Early Childhood Center; Linda C. Jolly '73M of Carney's Point, N.J.,
president, Salem Community College; Michele Grosseibl Dorrell '86 of
Newark, Del., vice president, human resources, American Express Centurion
Bank; Linda Laskowski Jones '83, '87M of Newark, Del., trauma clinical
nurse specialist, Medical Center of Delaware; Teresa Barkley McLaughin '78
of Astoria, N.Y., national award-winning quilt artist; and (standing, from
left) Theodore H. Carski '86 Ph.D. of Lincoln University, Pa., senior
research chemist, DuPont Agricultural Products; David G. Raymond '79 of
Wilmington, Del., Philadelphia Phillies mascot, the Phillie Phanatic; David
R. Helwig '73 of Wallingford, Pa., vice president, Limerick Generating
Station, Philadelphia Electric Co.; Scott C. Fleetwood '74 of Succasunna,
N.J., marketing manager, Imazethapyr herbicides and DNA herbicides,
American Cyanamid Co.; Michael L. King '81 Ph.D. of New Hope, Pa., vice
president, North American Operations for Pharmaceutical Manufacturing,
Merck Manufacturing Division, Merck & Co. Inc.; James B. Tillinghast '80 of
Wilmington, Del., vice president and creative group supervisor, Weightman
Group; Steven A. Combs '88 of Brickton, N.J., opera singer who made his
Metropolitan Opera debut in 1991; and James M. Dougherty '76, '78 of West
Chester, Pa., president and chief executive officer, Fidelity Bond and
     Not pictured are Jeffrey S. Cooper '75 of Wilmington, Del., head
trainer, Philadelphia Phillies; Martha Hoe Ireland '88M of Newark, Del.,
president and clinical director, Altering Disordered Eating (ADE) Inc.;
Gregory E. Johnson '86M of Shrewsbury, Pa., manager, Army Programs, EA
Engineering, Science, Technology Inc.; Stephen M. Mosko '78 of Westlake
Village, Calif., vice president, television syndication, Columbia Pictures
Television; and Timothy D. Stark '81 of Urbana, Ill., assistant professor,
civil engineering, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign. Begun in 1992,
the Presidential Citation for Outstanding Achievement honors graduates of
the last 20 years who exhibit great promise in their professional or public
service activities. To make a nomination, send a letter and supporting
material by Dec. 1 to: Presidential Citation for Outstanding Achievement,
Office of Alumni Relations, University of Delaware, Newark, DE 19716.