Messenger - Vol. 1, No. 3, Page 2 Spring 1992 University of Delaware Annual Report Selected historical highlights 1743 The history of the University of Delaware begins when colonial scholar and Presbyterian clergyman the Rev. Dr. Francis Alison opens a school in his home in New London, Pa. 1769 Thomas Penn, son of William Penn, charters the Academy of Newark, formerly Francis Alison's school. 1777 The Academy closes when the British army marches through Newark en route to Philadelphia. The school reopens three years later. 1833 Newark College gains its charter and merges with the Academy of Newark. The Academy retains the option to separate again if the college ceases operations. 1834 Newark College opens in Old College Hall, with proceeds from a state lottery. Two departments, the "academical and the collegiate," share the building. 1843 Newark College changes its name to Delaware College. 1859 Delaware College closes due to financial problems and the impending Civil War. 1869 Academy of Newark officially separates itself from the college as the 1833 charter allows. 1870 Delaware College reopens as a state land-grant college with funds provided by the Morrill Land-Grant College Act of 1862. 1904 Charles W. Bush becomes Delaware's first Rhodes Scholar. 1914 The Women's College of Delaware opens as a coordinate institution with Delaware College. 1921 University of Delaware is adopted as the name of the combined institutions of Delaware College and Women's College. 1923 University of Delaware initiates the nation's first study-abroad experience. 1938 Coeducation is permitted with conditions in senior and junior classes. 1944 Coeducation, already expanded as an emergency war measure, is adopted as permanent policy. 1948 First African-American students enter the University of Delaware. 1976 The University's College of Marine Studies is designated one of only 18 sea-grant colleges. 1991 University of Delaware is one of only 13 universities nationwide to become a space-grant institution via a NASA grant.